Rippling vs Remote: Which EOR Fits Your Hiring?

Remote lists EOR at $599 a month and says it owns every entity it uses, while Rippling quotes EOR privately and does not disclose its entity split. Rippling’s edge is HR, IT and payroll on one record.

Dhiraj DasBy Dhiraj DasUpdated 3 November 20269 min read
Fact checked

Rippling

HR, IT and finance platform with EOR

QuoteEOR fee, no published rate
80+EOR countries
4.8From 20,317 public reviews

Best for: companies that want EOR, payroll and IT on one record and already run, or plan to run, other products on Rippling.

Remote

Owned-entity EOR and payroll

$599EOR per month, annual contracts
90+EOR countries
4.6From 7,904 public reviews

Best for: teams hiring inside its 90+ countries that want one legal employer, IP transfer in the contract and no standard deposit.

Our verdict

Remote Wins on Price Clarity. Rippling Wins on Platform.

Editor’s take

If you want EOR on its own, we would pick Remote. It lists $599 per employee a month, says it owns every entity it uses in 90+ countries, charges no standard deposit and prices contractors at $29. Rippling publishes none of that for EOR, and our editor score for Remote is 4.2 against Rippling’s 3.8.

Rippling is the better buy when EOR is one part of a wider system. A new hire’s contract, app accounts and laptop come from one record, and offboarding cuts access in the same step. That only pays off if you will also run payroll or IT on Rippling, since every product sits on its platform rate and a monthly base fee.

New to the model? Our guide to what an employer of record does covers the basics, and our best EOR providers list ranks both against the wider market.

Head to head
Rippling
Remote
EOR price
Quote only
$599 /mo
Countries
80+
90+
Entity model
Split not disclosed
100% owned
Contractors
Quote only
$29 /mo
Beyond EOR
HR, IT and spend
EOR and payroll
Support
Local HR advisors
Hours not published
2 Rippling winsRemote wins 4
Choose Rippling ifEditor score 3.8 / 5
  • You already run payroll or IT on Rippling
  • You want laptops and app access set up with each hire
  • You will open your own entities later and stay on one platform
Choose Remote ifEditor score 4.2 / 5
  • You need a listed price before a sales call
  • You want one owned legal employer per hire
  • You run many contractors beside employees
Video guide

Watch the Rippling vs Remote Comparison

Eight minutes on price, entity ownership, contractors, platform and support, with chapters you can jump to.

Editor scorecard

How We Scored Rippling and Remote

We score every EOR on the same five factors, out of 5, and average them. The reasoning behind each score is in our Rippling review and Remote review, and the method is in our editorial guidelines.

Rippling3.8
Out of 5
4.2Remote
3
Country CoverageRemote lists about 10 more countries
4
3
PricingRemote publishes more of its terms
4
5
PlatformBoth rate high on ease of use
5
4
SupportRippling offers local HR advisors
3
4
ComplianceRemote’s owned-entity chain
5

Rippling’s 4.8 public rating sits above our 3.8 because most of its 20,317 reviewers use it as an HR and payroll platform, not as an EOR. Remote’s 4.6 draws on a Trustpilot base made up mostly of employees, and its 97 Capterra reviews from buyers average 4.4.

Pricing

Rippling vs Remote Pricing

Both charge fees on top of salary, employer taxes and benefits. Those employer costs often outweigh the fee, so check your countries in our employer cost by country tool.

Rippling

$8 /employee /month

Platform rate from Rippling’s pricing page, plus a monthly base fee. The EOR fee is quote only.

EOR feeQuote only
Platform base feeMonthly fee applies
Contractor managementQuote only
Payroll funding depositConfirm in quote
Contract termConfirm in quote

Ask for the EOR fee per country, the base fee and the contract term in writing, since Rippling publishes none of them.

Remote

$599 /employee /month

Listed on Remote’s pricing page for annual contracts. The monthly rate is not shown.

Contractor management$29 per contractor
Service termAnnual for the $599 rate
Payroll funding depositNone standard, reserve in some cases
Offboarding noticeNot published
Setup and platform feesNone

Ask what monthly billing costs, and when Remote would ask for a refundable reserve payment.

For published rates across more providers, see our EOR Pricing Index.

Features

Rippling vs Remote Features

What each provider lists on its own product, pricing and security pages. Remote also sells a US PEO, and our EOR vs PEO guide explains where that model fits.

Feature
Rippling
Remote
Hiring and employment
Employer of record
✓80+ countries
✓90+ countries
Owned entities
!Split not disclosed
✓100+, no third parties
Onboarding speed
✓Minutes to start, per Rippling
✓3 days average, Remote-reported
Local HR advisors
✓10+ years average experience
!In-house experts, no count
IP protection in contract
!Not detailed on its EOR page
✓IP Guard in the contract
Payroll and contractors
Contractor management
!Quote only
✓$29 per contractor
Contractor of Record
✓Offered, quoted
✓From $325
Global payroll
✓Own engine in 10 countries
✓$29 per employee
US PEO
!Not on its EOR page
✓From $99 per employee
Platform
HR, IT and device management
✓Apps and laptops from one record
!Not on pricing page
Integrations
✓650+ in App Shop
✓Workday, BambooHR, Personio
Platform base fee
!Monthly base fee applies
✓None
Support and security
Support response
✓Under 30 seconds, per Rippling
!Hours not published
Security certifications
✓SOC 1, 2, 3 and ISO 27001
✓SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001
✓Offered!Partly, or not published✕Not offered
Country coverage

Where You Can Hire With Each

The gap is about 10 countries, so structure matters more than reach here. Remote says all its entities are owned, while Rippling does not say.

Rippling

80+ EOR countries

Rippling’s EOR runs in 80+ countries. It does not say which markets run on its own entities and which on partners, and its own payroll engine covers 10 of them.

Countries both providers list, with our hiring guides:

Remote

90+ EOR countries

Remote says it runs 100+ legal entities that it owns and uses no third parties for EOR. Its pricing page cites contractor coverage in 190+ countries, but EOR stops at 90+.

Moving contractors onto payroll? Our guide on switching contractors to full-time EOR employees covers the steps.

Planning enough hires in one country to set up your own company? Compare the two routes in EOR vs entity setup.

Which one for you

Which One Fits Your Situation

Six situations we see most often from teams choosing between these two. For sector-specific needs, see how to choose an EOR for your industry.

You already run payroll or IT on Rippling

A new EOR hire lands on the same record as your payroll, app access and devices, and offboarding removes access in one step. Remote does not list an IT module.

Rippling

You need a price before a sales call

Remote lists $599 for annual contracts. Rippling publishes only its platform rate and quotes EOR per country.

Remote

You need one named legal employer per country

Remote says all 100+ of its entities are owned, with no third parties. Rippling does not publish which markets use its own entities.

Remote

You hire in a country on only one list

Each list runs 80 to 90 countries. Check your market on both sites first, then compare terms before price.

Check terms first

You run contractors alongside employees

Remote prices contractors at $29 and Contractor of Record from $325. Rippling quotes contractor pricing, though it pays contractors in 185+ countries.

Remote

You want laptops and app access ready on day one

Rippling IT can ship configured devices and set up app accounts for each hire. It is sold as a separate module.

Rippling
Contract and exit terms

Contract and Exit Terms to Check

Rippling publishes no contract terms for EOR. Remote ties its $599 rate to an annual contract and publishes little on exit.

Term
Rippling
Remote
Commitment
Confirm in quote Ask
Annual contract for the $599 rate Watch
Deposit
Confirm in quote Ask
No standard deposit, refundable reserve in some cases
Offboarding notice
Not published Ask
Not published Ask
Platform and module fees
Monthly base fee plus modules Watch
None listed
Start dates
Minutes to start, per Rippling
3 days on average, per Remote
Moving hires in-house
Same platform after entity setup
Not published Ask
Ask RipplingWhat are the EOR fee per country, the monthly base fee and the contract term?
Ask RemoteWhat does monthly billing cost, and when would you ask for a reserve payment?
Ask bothWho is the legal employer in each of my countries, and what does it cost to move a hire in-house?

Ending a contract abroad also triggers local rules, so check severance pay by country before you plan an exit.

User reviews

What Users Say About Rippling and Remote

Ratings weighted by review count across G2, Trustpilot and Capterra, checked for this comparison.

Rippling

4.820,317 reviews
G2
4.8 · 13,256
Trustpilot
4.5 · 2,203
Capterra
4.9 · 4,858
+Ease of use and a broad platform
+Fast first replies from support
−Module stacking and quote surprises

Remote

4.67,904 reviews
G2
4.6 · 4,448
Trustpilot
4.6 · 3,359
Capterra
4.4 · 97
+Ease of use and on-time payroll
+Owned entity structure and IP protection
−Scripted first replies on complex cases

For how the wider EOR market rates on price, coverage and compliance, see our employer of record statistics.

FAQ

Rippling vs Remote FAQ

Short answers from our research and both vendors’ published pages.

Is Rippling cheaper than Remote for EOR?

Rippling does not publish an EOR rate, so there is no list price to compare. Remote lists $599 per employee a month for annual contracts. Rippling's only public figure is a platform rate from $8 per employee a month plus a monthly base fee, so ask for an itemised EOR quote.

Which covers more countries, Rippling or Remote?

Remote, with EOR in 90+ countries against Rippling's 80+. Rippling pays contractors in 185+ countries and Remote cites contractor coverage in 190+, so check your own markets for employees first.

Do Rippling and Remote own their entities?

Remote says all 100+ of its entities are owned, with no third parties. Rippling does not say which EOR countries run on its own entities and which on partners, so ask for the model in each target country.

Which has better contractor management?

Remote publishes $29 per contractor a month and Contractor of Record from $325. Rippling quotes contractor pricing, though it pays contractors in 185+ countries in 50+ currencies.

Do I need Rippling's other products to use its EOR?

Rippling prices every product from a platform rate of $8 per employee a month plus a monthly base fee, and EOR is quoted on top. That suits companies that will also run payroll or IT there, and fits one or two hires abroad less well.

Which has better support?

Rippling says it answers support requests in under 30 seconds and offers local HR advisors with 10+ years of experience. Remote does not publish support hours. Reviewers of both describe slow escalations on complex cases, so test each with a hard question.

Which is more secure?

Rippling lists SOC 1, SOC 2 and SOC 3 reports plus ISO 27001, 27018 and 42001. Remote lists SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 and CSA STAR Level 1. Both point to trust centers for current reports.

About the author

Dhiraj Das
Dhiraj DasCo-Founder, EmployerRecords

Dhiraj Das is Co-Founder of EmployerRecords.com, where he leads content, research and partnerships. He has worked in content and online publishing for more than 15 years, and before EmployerRecords he founded a number of successful content brands. For the past six years he has specialised in HR technology, Employer of Record services and global hiring. His background in digital marketing and search shapes how EmployerRecords researches and presents its provider reviews, country hiring guides and cost data, so employers can compare their options and hire abroad with clear, checked information.

View all articles by Dhiraj

Tools and research

This website uses cookies to enhance user experience and to analyze performance and traffic on our website. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.